Peppermint Mochas and Faking Sanity

This is the third time I’ve ended up at this coffee shop this week. I mean, it’s always been a comforting place, but now I seek it out just for a touch of normalcy. It’s a place untouched by anything bad (except for the guy that has been texting me and telling me about how romantic he finds my sadness, and really fuck that). 

This coffee shop has become a place that I’m coming instead of going to classes. I have to pull myself together and appear sane since I’m technically in public, but I am by no means required to socialize with anyone while I’m here. 

I order the same thing every time- a peppermint mocha. I never drink it all and I don’t really know why I keep wasting my money, but I feel like it’s something I need. So I don’t sit in my room and create new scars on the insides of my thighs. Here I’m unnoticeable and I don’t have to think, and I can just be. 

-C

Leave a Reply

